SHARE ON: [addtoany buttons='facebook,twitter,email']

9th February 2023

Gauteng Provincial Government

Government is about ruling: national government rules the country through policy-making and administration, The Gauteng Provincial Government rules the Gauteng province and has 11 departments: the Office of the Premier, Agriculture and Rural Development, Community Safety, Economic Development, Education, Finance, Health and Social Development, Infrastructure Development, Local Government and Housing, Roads and Public Transport, and Sports, Arts, Culture and Education. Gauteng like all the other provinces in South Africa has a group of representatives who fill certain portfolios and are concerned with everything that happens on a provincial scale.

The Premier is the executive authority of the province, an authority that is sometimes exercised together with members of the executive council MECs. The Premier has the power to appoint members of the executive council and assign their functions.